Somatic Psychotherapies in Clinical Settings: Practical Applications for Trauma, Addiction, and Anxiety

DATE: Saturday, June 29, 2024

TIME: 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. EST //  8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. CT  // 6:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. PT // 7:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. MT

PLATFORM: Via Zoom Webinar

COST:  Early Bird (until May 15) $129; afterward, the cost is $149

FEATURES:

  • Live & Interactive Webinar
  • Presentation Slides PDF & Additional Resources Included
  • Provides for 7 CE hours of General Skill-Building/Clinical/Evidence-Based Treatment/Substance-Specific

Traditional talk therapy has its limits. In recent years, research has shown that to heal psychological wounds, we must include the body. Enter the “somatic psychotherapies,” which focus on the mind-body connection. These modalities utilize physical movements and work with a person’s nervous system to bring about positive change.

In this experiential and interactive webinar, you will gain an overview of the most common somatic psychotherapies, including Sensorimotor Psychotherapy, Accelerated Experiential Dynamic Psychotherapy (AEDP), Gestalt, Somatic Experiencing (SE), Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR), Sensorimotor Psychotherapy, the Hakomi Method, Brainspotting, and Accelerated Resolution Therapy (ART).

You will learn the similarities and differences between each modality, and become familiar with how each one addresses trauma, addictive behaviors, and anxiety.

Most importantly, you will learn and practice a wide variety of somatically-based exercises that you can begin sharing with your clients immediately.

Upon completion of this training, participants will be able to:

  • Describe a wide range of somatic psychotherapies
  • Identify the similarities between somatic psychotherapies
  • Understand the differences between somatic psychotherapies
  • Understand the training requirements for each type of somatic psychotherapy
  • Discuss how the body is incorporated into psychological healing
  • Discuss the importance of the nervous system in managing trauma, addiction, and anxiety
  • Practice a wide range of somatically-based activities that can be used to help clients manage symptoms of anxiety and trauma
  • Discuss strategies for incorporating somatically-based methods into their clinical work