Introduction to Schema Therapy Part 1: Understanding Unmet Needs & Themes

DATE: Monday, September 23, 2024

TIME: 12:00 p.m. to 2:00 pm ET //  11:00 am to 1:00 p.m. CT  // 9:00 am to 11:00 am PT // 10:00  a.m. to 12:00 p.m. MT

PLATFORM: Via Zoom Webinar

COST: $25 (SPECIAL PRICING!!)

FEATURES:

  • Live & Interactive Webinar
  • Presentation Slides PDF & Additional Resources Included
  • Provides for 2 CE hours of Clinical

Schema therapy is an innovative, integrative therapy developed by Young and colleagues (Young, 1990, 1999) that significantly expands on traditional cognitive-behavioral treatments and concepts. Schema therapy is a type of therapy that targets schemas, a term used clinically to describe maladaptive patterns of thinking that could cause someone to engage in unhealthy behavior, or to struggle to maintain adult relationships. Schemas are thought to develop during childhood, particularly in children whose emotional and physical needs weren’t met; they may also develop in children who were overindulged or whose parents did not maintain proper boundaries.

In adulthood, these schemas are thought to influence an individual’s thoughts and actions negatively—leading to behaviors such as avoidance, overcompensation, or excessive self-sacrifice. These behaviors, in turn, can negatively affect relationships and emotional well-being. In this 2-part training, we will explore the primary components of the therapeutic process: unmet emotional needs, themes of maladaptive schemas, modes, coping skills (surrender, escape, attack), and the most common mental health concerns Schema Therapy is effective in treating.

Upon completion of this webinar, participants will be able to:

  • Educate clients on the history of Schema Therapy
  • Define Schema Therapy
  • Explain how Schema Therapy works
  • Identify characteristics of maladaptive schemas
  • Define Schema themes

$25.00